In 1972, the Federated Women’s Institutes of Ontario (FWIO) purchased the Lee family home. FWIO wanted to preserve the vintage home as a memorial to the birthplace of the Women’s Institutes (WI), and feature the vanished, middle-class, rural Victorian lifestyle. It opened as the Erland Lee Museum the same year, with the exterior and the 1873 additions restored to their 1897 beauty.
The white board and batten house is an example of Gothic Architecture and exhibits household artifacts and furniture circa 1790 to 1930. Many of the artifacts are original to the six generations of the Lee family who lived in the home between 1808 and 1971.
The Carriage (Drive) House, also an original 1873 building, features displays of farm-related implements and tools, exhibits on Stoney Creek history, including donated family artifacts from the community, and other special exhibits throughout the year. The museum boasts a quilt collection, with a mix of traditional and modern patterns and techniques, many quilted by members of the Women’s Institutes. The highlight of the quilt collection, and a piece of Canadiana, is the 1875 Margaret Sheriff Quilt.
For Self-Guided tour experiences, enjoy a Garden Tour in Spring, Summer and Fall, or attend one of our year-round Exterior Architectural Tour.